Geographic Area(s)
North America
This standard establishes criteria and requirements for interconnection of distributed resources (DR) with electric power systems (EPS). The USA Federal Energy Policy Act of 2005 calls for state commissions to consider certain standards for electric utilities. Under Section 1254 of the act: "Interconnection services shall be offered based upon the standards developed by IEEE 1547 as may be amended from time to time." Purpose: The technical specifications for, and testing of, the interconnection and interoperability between utility electric power systems (EPSs) and distributed energy resources (DERs) are the focus of this standard. It provides requirements relevant to the performance, operation, testing, safety considerations, and maintenance of the interconnection. It also includes general requirements, response to abnormal conditions, power quality, islanding, and test specifications and requirements for design, production, installation evaluation, commissioning, and periodic tests. The stated requirements are universally needed for interconnection of DER, including synchronous machines, induction machines, or power inverters/converters and will be sufficient for most installations. The criteria and requirements are applicable to all DER technologies interconnected to EPSs at typical primary and/or secondary distribution voltages. Installation of DER on radial primary and secondary distribution systems is the main emphasis of this document, although installation of DERs on primary and secondary network distribution systems is considered. This standard is written considering that the DER is a 60 Hz source.
Status Explanation
Initially published and designated as an ANSI American National Standard in 2003. It was reaffirmed in 2008 and amended in 2014. A full revision was published in 2018. Amended April 2020 to revise the ranges of allowable trip clearing time settings in Table 13. Available from Amended April 2020 to revise the ranges of allowable trip clearing time settings in Table 13.
Committee Information
Chairman: David Narang Vice Chairman: Mark Siira Vice Chairman: John Berdner Vice Chairman: Bob Fox Vice Chairman:Babak Enayati IEEE Manager: Michael Kipness Secretariat: NREL